Jaystonee’s Videogame Picks for 2017!

2017 is here! So now is the time to take a quick glance at the new videogames hitting the market (hopefully) this year. This is not an exhaustive list, but a few games that have piqued my interest for quite sometime. So let’s begin.

Horizon: Zero Dawn by Guerrilla Games is an open-world action rpg (role-playing) game horizon-zero-dawn-wallpaper-picturesthat took my breath away when it was announced at E3 2015. I was in attendance for E3 2015, but Horizon was shown behind closed doors. A little upsetting because at the time I knew I was getting the game, so I really wanted to test it myself. Now, Horizon is a month away and several trailers have highlighted the gorgeous world the protagonist, Aloy, has to survive in. Yes, I do mean “survive”. Aloy lives in a post-apocalyptic world in which machines have transcended well beyond simple humanoid robots, but have taken the form of prehistoric creatures. I know, pretty cool indeed. I cannot wait to get my hands on this game!

Nintendo Switch releases in March. This is Nintendo’s next chance to regain some momentum in the gaming market. They need it.the-legend-of-zelda-breath-of-the-wild Nintendo has been struggling for quite sometime due to poor decision making and bad marketing. Hopefully the switch comes with a strong lineup of games than can put Nintendo back on the map. The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild looks very promising. Come on Nintendo, you can do this!

injustice-2I love fighting games, so of course I have been having my eyes on Injustice 2. I skipped Injustice for reasons unknown. I should have gotten it by now, but other games distracted me. Guess I will pick it up when another Steam sales happens. Injustice 2 add news character to the fray with the addition of Blue Beetle, Supergirl, Gorilla Grood, and others. I’m excited to yet again try to be the best competitor, until 2 weeks pass by and everyone in the world knows every combo and mix up imaginable. But I will try!

detroit-become-humanI love sci-fi games. I love “freedom of choice” games. Detroit: Become Human nestles these components in one package to tell a mutli-character narrative. From what I have read and observed from the trailers, Kara and Connor are androids who play pivotal roles in the game’s narrative. A narrative that is influenced the decisions the players makes in the game. Undoubtedly, there may be a larger conspiracy happening for one of the trailers showcases Connor trying to stop a rogue android from killing a little girl. I cannot wait to see more and then hopefully get it in my hands sometime this year.

0a7c6b1a-bc3e-4003-b4b9-2edc104cccb0Lastly, I was going to put Platinum Games’s Scalebound in this list, but unfortunately Microsoft is starting 2017 off with cancelling Scalebound. So let us all pay tribute to the fallen! Scalebound, you showed great promise! You showcased a world full of dragons, creatures, and magic with an upbeat protagonist who enjoyed slaying beasts just as much as I do. You will be missed.

Again, not an exhaustive list, but these games are my top picks for 2017! So here is hoping that they live up to the hype. Most importantly, release on time!

2017, dazzle me!

 

 

Leave a Reply

