A New Banner with a Can Do Attitude!

jaystoneevector-1

First, I want to give a big shout out to Matthew Wright of WrightWorks Production. He is the one who created this awesome new banner for me! Technically, there are 2 versions! The second version can only be seen on my Twitter @JavonOnThePrgm Anywho, if you need a digital art piece to showcase for a blog or a video WrightWorksProduction got you covered!

So as I continue my transition into graduate school, I have been filled with a warming sensation of gratitude. Since, my freshman year in undergrad people told me I should start a blog. My friends constantly telling me that there is an audience waiting to hear what I have to say. Of course, I thought they were just saying that so I would stop bogging them down with deep videogame discussions. So what changed? How did I go from being skittish about expressing my thoughts online to having close to 100 posts at this point?

The spring of 2014 is when I found my mentor who was going to help me become the researcher I never knew I could be. He believed in me and believed in my passion to become a videogame expert, writer, or researcher…something. So, if someone was going to believe in me, I first had to believe in myself. I took that leap of faith and created my blogsite.

June 9, 2014 is when I published my first blog post entitled, “Welcome to Jaystonee on the Program!” I was nervous as hell. I was expecting that no one was going to read it, especially since it was my first post. As I was hanging out with my cousin’s over their place, around 9pm my phone buzzed. I don’t remember the exact wording, but the person congratulated me on publishing my first post. I was ecstatic! The next morning I was elated to see a few more people had emailed me saying congrats and keep it up. That gave me the push to continue writing.

2 years later, I now have close to a 100 posts under my belt and can see the growth and development of my blog. I am still learning, but I am grateful to have many followers and the support of my friends, family, and colleagues.

This blogsite is meant to bridge the gap between an academic’s perspective of videogame culture and those who also love videogames and would like to know a little bit more about the settle and overt nuisances within the medium. I am a gamer. I am a researcher. I am a games researcher, specifically focused on videogames. This blogsite is for anyone within either or both spaces like myself. This blog is for people who just want to understand this whole gaming thing in general! So help me share this space for others to learn from and discuss.

Leave a Reply

