Xbox Shows Off at Gamescom 2015!

Microsoft came out strong and ferocious at the Gamesom conference in Cologne, Germany. As an Xbox man myself, I am extremely happy. Of course, majority of everything that was presented was previously announced, but gameplay trailers were finally shown this time around. Platinum Games’s Scalebound has been on my radar since E3 2014. Platinum Games are also responsible for creating hit games such as Bayonetta, Vanquish, and Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance.  In Scalebound the protagonist is an upbeat teen who has dragon-like powers and speed. Did I forget to mention you control a dragon that helps you in combat! The gameplay got me hyped to play this game, but I need to see a little bit more before I invest my money into it.

Besides the gorgeous Scalebound, Quantum Break and Crackdown 3 were both shown with new gameplay trailers. Quantum Break is a third-person shooter that allows the player to manipulate time to take out enemies in milliseconds! It’s also getting an Xbox TV show spin-off so, yeah I guess?! Crackdown 3 is the next installment to the fast-paced shooter Crackdown franchise. Its one big adrenaline rush with destructible environments. I will keep my on eye own it if I were you.

Of course, the big games such as Halo 5: Guardians and Rise of the Tomb Raider made an appearance. Halo 5 is officially Call of Duty in terms of multiplayer now. The game looks good, but I feel there is a Halo-ness spark missing or something of that nature. I love Halo so, I will still buy it just not on the day of release. I can wait. Lastly, Lara Croft was shown of infiltrating a camp full of baddies with guns. Needless to say, she handled them like a boss! Here is a link to the trailer so you can witness the magic!

The games mentioned above were just the highlights for me, but here is the link to watch the full Xbox at Gamescom briefing. Fall 2015 is going to be pretty awesome for Xbox players, especially with the power of Windows 10. Now let’s hope between now a December there will be no push backs, major delays, and/or broken game releases. One can only hope!

Leave a Reply

