Getting Back In the Habit!

I just finished my junior year at the University of Maryland, College Park. Of course, I learned a lot academically, but I also learned a lot about myself. I am not going to lie it was a struggle to fit in game time with everything else I was doing. Meetings upon meetings. Endless papers to type and submit. Additionally, I work an on campus job. Needless to say, I have to ensure I manage my time well. Now that I am on summer break, I have sometime to reflect and most importantly, play videogames.

I picked up The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt on my last day of exams and had been hitting the videogames hard that week. Maybe a little too hard. My body is use to staying up around 1 or 2am. Gone are the days of staying up late til the sun rises again. This past saturday I was talking with my friends through Xbox Live up ’til 4am. Then, I stayed up an extra hour watching hulu. Sunday was not as bad for I went to bed around 3am. At the time of me typing this post, my head is slightly hurting and I feel weak. I was not eating regularly while I was gaming, thus explaining the muscle fatigue. On a side note, my legs are going through growing pains, so I am all screwed up this Memorial Day. Also, I have allergies and ran out of Flonase 4 days ago.

It was a blast playing hours upon hours of videogames that week, but I am not the gamer I use to be. I am not sad because of this realization. I am saying that things are a lot different, especially when I trying my best to become a videogame researcher. Videogames take time to play and so does studying them. There is a balance and I am very close to finding it. In the meantime, back to bed and back to gaming.

One thought on “Getting Back In the Habit!

Leave a Reply

