A Slight Change in Direction!

Let me first say that I hope everyone had a joyous and delicious Turkey Day. If you do not celebrate it, I still hope that you enjoyed some time off.

I had a wonderful time eating lots of food, laughing with my family, and also shopping. Yes I was a part of the large procession of people sprinting from store to store. I joined a group of friends and headed out to the mall around 11:30pm that Thursday. We traversed the mall until 3:30am, then stayed in Walmart until 4:30am. We crashed at one of my roommate’s friend’s place who lives pretty close to the mall. Out of the 8 person group, four of us decided to go back out at 6am because most stores would reopen at that time. Once 6am rolled around we decided to get at least some sleep, and that we would go to Best Buy at 8am. My goal during Black Thursday/Friday was to get my brother an Ipod 5 (16gb), but sadly there was none to be found. My very patient brother agreed to wait for me to get it online. Thanks to him I was able to redirect the spending money I had to go towards my new console.

I did state in an earlier blog post that I was planning to get a PS4 as my next generation console. Due to financial constraints, interesting bundles, and sheer impatience, I bought an Xbox One. I did not only get an Xbox One for these reasons. I honestly wanted one around the time Microsoft revealed it. I believe it is a very fast and interesting console to own, but this depends on if you want the “all in one” appeal to it. I am an avid Netflix, Hulu Plus, and YouTube watcher. Of course, all of this you can still do on any other system, but I am also into social media. I do find the social media feed quite appealing. However, the user interface takes a while to get used to and needs some fixing here and there.

Currently, I have two games:Assassins Creed: Black Flag and Assassins: Unity. AC:BF looks amazing on the Xbox One. There is a clear difference in graphics between the Xbox 360 and the Xbox One. AC:Unity I am not for yet because I have not installed it. I am waiting for the 300 plus software patch from Ubisoft before I jump into the game.

So, yes – I am a proud owner of an Xbox One. I do know that the Xbox One is lacking behind some things that the PS4 can currently do, but just like a fine wine it gets better with age. The Xbox 360 did not immediately come out the gate with hard hitting titles. For example, the 360 came out in November 2005. Halo 3 did not come out until November of 2007. So the games, the user interface updates, the peripherals will get better over the next year. 2014 was the year of seeing what the consoles can do out of the box. 2015 is the year where we will see just how far these consoles can take us into the next generation of gaming.

Leave a Reply

