E3 2014 Day 3: Gaming for the Current (Next) Generation

In no particular order, Mircosoft, EA, Sony, Nintendo, and Ubisoft have all spoken their peace so, what’s next after that? Well let the gamers decide of course. And decide we shall. When elaborating on E3 a question comes to mind, what game do I talk about first? I have been pondering this question Pre-E3 for sometime now. So I will elaborate on the games that shocked me, surprised me, and games that that should just take my money now! With that said, let’s begin! Since its debut trailer somewhere early 2013, I knew I had to get. I was so blown away that I pre-ordered the game the day it was announced knowing that it will be released sometime 2014. The game I’m mentioning is Bungie’s new IP, Destiny! This will be Bungie’s first game ever sense they passed the Halo torch to 343 Industries. Destiny is a open third person shooter, RPG, and MMO rolled into one. The stunning open world, game play mechanics, and multi-genre approach instantly grabbed my attention…and my $5 reserved deposit at Gamestop. Seeing more gameplay and that beautiful cinematic trailer in Sony press conference solidified my decision to fullly purchase the game day of release. Bungie’s new game so far has not deviated from the core story arch and staying the course (for now.) Destiny is that really excited for and hope exceeds my expectations. Sony’s PS4 exclusive, The Order: 1886, is daring, scary, and gorgeous. The Order: 1886 takes place in a steampunk-style world, somewhere in Europe(actual setting is still undisclosed). It is about a group of people called “The Order” who uses futuristic weaponry to combat against inhuman creatures, such as Lycanthropes (Werewolves). The game looks stunning on PS4 for it runs 60 fps at 1080p. It is a third-person action shooter that encompasses a Gears of War-ish cover system, but this does not take away from the overall look or feel of the game what so ever. The game among many other PS4 exclusives is another example of why Sony is at top of overall console sales. Now let’s just hope this game actually plays as well as it looks on the day of its release, February 20, 2015. Lastly, I want to talk a little bit on a game that I grew up with, but never really played. Nintendo ‘s AAA game,Super Smash Bros. Brawl, is shaping up to the be the game to get Nintendo out of its gaming slump they been in so far. I did not play Smash Bros. that often when I was younger, but I appreciated the level of skill and fun that attracted people to play it. With the new announced characters, NFC-enabled “Amiboo”, and stunning game play aesthetic, I am generally gets me excited for its release. I can imagine see now, the twitch streams of high skilled players showing of their expertise using famed characters just as Link to beat Donkey Kong, Kirby, and Kid Icarus into a bloody pulp. This game definitely will be a morale booster for not only Nintendo, but for all Nintendo supporters and belivers. I am here to say that I am a “belieber” sorry, sorry, could not resist! Seriously, these games really sparked my interested. These games really exemplify that next-generation is here and the gamers should be prepared for the onslaught of awesomeness headed our way!

Leave a Reply

